Boys Track & Field

Boys Track & Field Team

2019 Season Preview

For the third straight season, the boys track team won the Circle City Conference Championship, but the 2019 title displayed the team’s depth, as the Rebels won despite having only two individual event winners. The team had two scorers in 13 of the 16 events at the conference championship. The team scored in 14 of 16 events at the sectional and in 13 of the 16 events at the Freshman County Meet for a second-place finish, one point out of first place and the best finish in program history. The Rebels had an individual sectional champion, two runners-up and nine regional qualifiers, including all three relays.

Senior distance runner Nick Perkins was named the team MVP. He won his third-straight sectional title, becoming the first athlete in program history to accomplish the feat and he qualified for state in the 3200 meters for the third straight year. He’s the program’s first three-time state qualifier since 2004 and only the second ever. In the state final, Perkins finished 14th and trimmed over three seconds off of his school record with a final time of 9:23.37.

In addition to Perkins’ lowering his school record, he ran a top-10 all-time effort in the 1600 meters. Five other athletes put their names in the top 10, including senior sprinter Brandon White (200 meters), senior hurdler Daniel Woodruff (300 hurdles), senior thrower Connor DeMoss (shot put), junior distance runner Logan Wong (1600 meters) and freshman sprinter Aaron Garnett (100 meters). During the indoor season, White, Woodruff, senior Austin Johnson and senior Grant Latimer established a new school record for the 4x200 meter relay with a time of 1:32.79

Brandon White named the senior-class MVP and the team’s most improved athlete. Middle-distance runners Josh Wheat and Matthew Croddy earned the junior and sophomore MVPs, respectively. Freshman jumper and hurdler Zander Hooten was selected as the freshman MVP. Daniel Woodruff won the team’s mental attitude award.
Woodruff, DeMoss, Latimer, Austin Johnson, senior sprinter Nick Johnson and senior middle-distance runner Grant Meinerding, along with junior hurdler Sam Carr, junior distance runners Ryan Flick, Sam George and Liam Irwin and junior jumper Aidan Looney were all named academic all-state by the Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches (IATCCC). White, senior sprinter Alex Volk, junior middle-distance runner Josh Wheat and junior distance runner Logan Wong were all named honorable mention academic all-state by the IATCCC. The Rebels had more athletes named to the academic all-state team than any other program in the state.